Daddy: Let Me Get What I Want (Vinyl LP)

Daddy: Let Me Get What I Want (Vinyl LP)

We Are Daddy

Regular price $34.99 Sale

Usually ships in 3-6 business days

Double vinyl LP pressing with 10” booklet containing artwork by James Franco. 2016 album from this art rock duo comprised of James Franco and Tim O'Keefe. The project features The Smith's Andy Rourke on bass guitar. Inspiration for the record came from a book of poetry James recently published. The motivation behind Daddy is to push beyond ...the sonic space of music into the surrounding ecology. Daddy investigates the territories of film/video, installation, and performance while simultaneously exploring the connections that form between them. While sampling has been an established and prevalent method of modern music making, Daddy’s approach moves beyond the ‘art of sampling’ into the act of appropriation. Not just appropriating a genre of music, but the moments it inhabits, and the characters that embody it. Drawing from the individual practices of both Franco and O’Keefe, Daddy brings together the interests and talents of these two artists. Franco continues his exploration of identity. Through appropriating and recontextualizing material from his work as an actor, director, and individual, he questions the existing boundaries between. O’Keefe, the musician behind , brings to Daddy his imaginative sense of sound and play, creating evocative arrangements that merge together the assumed separations between time, space, and cultures. I'm a Sword Swallower, Lime Green Dress, Gentle But You Weren't, Car Ride Home, I Think That I Loved Him, On the Sideline, I Am All These Things, Graduation Day, You Are Mine, Now I Stand Alone