Jayhawks: Smile (Vinyl LP)

Jayhawks: Smile (Vinyl LP)

American Recordings

Regular price $49.99 Sale

Usually ships in 3-6 business days

2014 remastered 2 X vinyl LP pressing reissue of their 2000 release with 6 bonus tracks. With Smile, The Jayhawks drop yet another sizable chunk of their alt-country sound by the roadside, adding in it's place healthy doses of power pop and modern electronic music. Almost half of Smile's songs feature looped percussion, overdubbed drum tracks, or flat-out, funky backbeats. Despite the modern touches, though, the fact remains that Smile retains just enough of a distinctly Americana feeling. On Better Days, one of Louris' best songs, he sings with genuine regret and heartache the way he treated a long ago lover, and on Break in the Clouds he celebrates the comforts of domestic contentment, complete with pedal steel and soaring harmonies that recall the band's landmark work Hollywood Town Hall from 1992. What never changes on The Jayhawks' albums, it seems, are the blissful melodies and well-constructed tunes. Smile, I'm Gonna Make You Love Me, What Led Me to This Town, Somewhere in Ohio, A Break in the Clouds, Queen of the World, Life Floats By, Broken Harpoon, Pretty Thing, Mr Wilson, Wildest Dreams, Better Days, Baby Baby Baby, Who Made You King, Gypsy in the Mood, A Part of You, Life's Little Ups and Downs, Greta Garbo, Five Cornered Blues