Sharpe, Edward & the Magnetic Zeros: Persona (Vinyl LP)

Sharpe, Edward & the Magnetic Zeros: Persona (Vinyl LP)

Community Music

Regular price $29.99 Sale

Usually ships in 3-6 business days

Vinyl LP pressing in gatefold jacket. 2016 release, the fourth album from indie-folk mainstays, Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros. This is the long-awaited follow-up to their 2013 self-titled album. Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros is a 10-piece musical ensemble founded in 2007 during the year-long recording of their first album, Up From Below. Since it's founding, the band has undergone several iterations. Most notably, singer Jade Castrinos left the band in 2014. According to lead singer Ebert, this marked a transformation in the band's music. 'We had long been a social experiment first, musicians second. Over time, though, we were emerging, by virtue of hours spent, into a group of musicians who could really play together. When Jade left, that confirmed our new fate music first.' The shift is tangible on PersonA. Recording the music almost entirely in one room together in New Orleans, their approach was a far cry from their ramshackle, come-one-come-all philosophy audible on recordings of their previous albums. 'We seem to be done for now with distractions from the music itself, the bones of it,' says Ebert. This album also marks the first time that the band has jointly collaborated on a majority of the songwriting. Hot Coals, Uncomfortable, Somewhere, No Love Like Yours, Wake Up the Sun, Free Stuff, Let It Down, Perfect Time, Lullaby, The Ballad of Yaya