Johnny Cash: Orange Blossom Special (Vinyl LP)

Johnny Cash: Orange Blossom Special (Vinyl LP)

Exhibit Records

Regular price $35.99 Sale

Usually ships in 3-6 business days

Orange Blossom Special is the 21st album originally released by musician Johnny Cash on Columbia Records in 1965. The recordings include country and folk standards, such as The Long Black Veil, When It's Springtime in Alaska, Danny Boy and Wildwood Flower. The song that gave the title to the album was Orange Blossom Special, released previous to the album, it became a success. At the time it was recorded, the authorship of the song was not widely known, being commonly covered by diverse artists. Cash learned from Maybelle Carter that the song was written by Ervin T. Rouse, who Cash later met during a show in Miami, Florida. Cash's recording is unusual in his repertoire for featuring a tenor saxophone solo by Boots Randolph, an instrument (and musician) rarely spotlighted on Cash's recordings. The album also contains three covers of Bob Dylan songs, that he gave Cash after a concert in Newport, Rhode Island. It Ain't Me Babe, Don't Think Twice, it's Alright and Mama, You've Been on My Mind. The last one was only recorded by Dylan as a demo, but it was first released in an album by Cash. Cash had previously borrowed the melody of Don't Think Twice for his recording Understand Your Man. Released on February 1965, the album reached number three in Billboard's Country albums as well as forty-nine in pop albums respectively. The single Orange Blossom Special peaked number three on Billboards Hot Country Singles and the duet with June Carter It Ain't Me Babe peaked number four in Hot Country Singles Orange Blossom Special, The Long Black Veil, It Ain't Me Babe, The Wall, Don't Think Twice It's All Right, You Wild Colorado, Mama You Been on My Mine, When It's Springtime in Alaska (It's Forty Below), All of God's Children Ain't Free, Danny Boy, Wildwood Flower, Amen