Pink Floyd: A Collection Of Great Dance Songs (Vinyl LP)

Pink Floyd: A Collection Of Great Dance Songs (Vinyl LP)

Pink Floyd Records

Regular price $34.99 Sale

Usually ships in 3-6 business days

Limited 180gm vinyl LP pressing. A Collection of Great Dance Songs is a compilation album by Pink Floyd, released on 23 November 1981 by Harvest Records. The title is facetious, given that Pink Floyd are not known for making particularly danceable music. This is perhaps evidenced by the album art, which featured a photograph of ballroom dancers anchored to the ground so they cannot move. The album contains alternative mixes of Shine On You Crazy Diamond (which comprises parts 1, 2, 4 and 7) edited down for time reasons, and Another Brick in the Wall (Part 2) (which combines the intro from the single mix with the album version). Also, the track Money was re-recorded as Capitol Records refused to license the track to Columbia/CBS Records. David Gilmour re-recorded the track himself, guitars, keyboards, bass guitar and vocals and co-producing the song with James Guthrie. Dick Parry reprised his saxophone role on the track. There are some differences between the re-recorded version and the original; mainly in the saxophone and guitar solos and the overall use of reverb. The drumming is noticeably different from Nick Mason's, especially during the guitar solo, with very little of the tom-tom fills heard on the original. One of These Days - 5:14, Money (1981 Re-Recording) - 6:46, Sheep - 9:46, Shine on You Crazy Diamond (PTS. 1-4); Pt. 1\ Pt. 2\ Pt. 3\ Pt. 4 - 10:41, Wish You Were Here - 5:30, Another Brick in the Wall Pt. 2 - 3:58